+91 9760014754

Introduction to HTML 5


What is HTML5?

HTML5 is the latest version of Hyper Text Markup Language.

The main aim of HTML5 is to increase the latest multimedia support and to decrease the dependency on client side scripting language like JavaScript and third party plugging like ‘Adobe Flash Player‘ etc.


HTML5 can be effectively run on low-powered devices such as smart phones, tablets etc.


Several new elements like <video>, <audio>, <canvas> etc. have been introduced in HTML5.


The doctype declaration:-


is a special tag which is declared in the very beginning of a web page before <html> tag. It sends an instruction to the web browser about the version of HTML.

<!DOCTYPE> is not a HTML tag and most of the modern browsers support this tag declaration.

As HTML5 is not based on SGML, so no DTD reference is required in <!DOCTYPE> declaration. This tag is also very useful for SEO.



TML5 is a cooperation between the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG).

All the New features of HTML5 are based on HTML, CSS, DOM, and JavaScript.HTML5 is designed to replace HTML4,XHTML and HTML DOM Level 2.



It is designed to deliver rich content without the need for additional plugins which was explicitly done in previous versions of HTML.


The new standard incorporates features like video playback and drag-and-drop that have been previously dependent on third-party browser plug-ins such as Adobe Flash, Microsoft Silverlight, and Google Gears.


HTML5 is still a work in progress. However, the major browsers support many of the new  HTML5 elements and APIs.

    HTML5 is device independent.

    HTML5 has more markup to replace scripting.


 First HTML5 Document

 Document type in HTML4.01


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "">  


 Document Type in HTML5

<!DOCTYPE html>  


HTML5 is designed, as much as possible, to be backward compatible with existing web browsers.

New Features of HTML5

HTML5 comes with many new content-specific elements, like


<article>, <footer>, <header>,

<nav>, <section>  etc.

Improvements to HTML web forms where new attributes have been introduced for <input> tag with support for form controls like calendar, date, time, email, url, search etc…

Introduction of Canvas which supports a two-dimensional drawing surface that you can program with JavaScript.


 Embedding audio or video to web pages without third-party plugins.



Choice to the visitors to share their physical location with your web application.(Geo Location)


Introduction of Microdata which lets you create your own vocabularies beyond HTML5 and extend your web pages with custom semantics.


Drag and drop the items from one location to another location on the same webpage.


 A next-generation bidirectional communication technology for web applications with introduction to Server-Sent Events (SSE).


List of HTML 4.01 elements removed from HTML5:


  <center> ,<dir>,<font>,<big> , <frame>

<frameset> , <noframes> , <acronym> ,

 <applet> ,<basefont> , <strike>



An excellent website providing which feature of HTML5 is supported in each and every browser: